Brown, Thomas named to 1A-2A-3A All-Star teams

by Sean Dunlap

Franklin County High School junior basketball standouts JaKya Brown and Daylen Thomas have been selected to take part in the Mississippi Association of Coaches’ 2022 North-South All-Star Game.

The formal announcement of the 1A-2A-3A North and South programs was made on Wednesday, Jan. 5.

Since 2019, Franklin County has had six players selected to take part in the competition — Ma’Kyilan Covington took part in the 2019 event while Kobe Marshall, Caleibria McDonald and Ja’Sharreah Hunt were chosen to play in 2021.

FCHS Head Basketball Coach Rickey Van O’Quinn helped lead the boys’ 1A-2A-3A South team during the 2020 competition.

The 2022 girls’ South squad will include: Brown; Kara Beth Addison of West Lincoln; Kinley Ainsworth of Puckett; Aliala Burton of Jefferson Davis County; Annearrea Ducksworth of Heidelberg; Brooklyn Harris of Lake; Aubany Holbert of Puckett; Raven Jones of West Marion; Ja’Kerra Mingo of North Forrest; Cayla Myers of Velma Jackson; Laneisha Palm of Lake; and Tamia Yates of Crystal Springs.

The South team coaches include Holly Moncrief of Puckett and Charles Neely of Our Lady Academy.

The 2022 boys’ South team roster includes: Thomas; Derrick Davis of Leake County; Cameren Felming of McAdams; Demondre Graham of Southeast Lauderdale; Tyrice Holloway of Bay Springs; Freddie Love of Puckett; Tashun Pierce of Bay Springs; Chris Shorts of Jefferson Davis County; Jalen Smith of McEvans; Malik Williams of Jefferson Davis County; Kevale Williams and Caleb Young of Tylertown.

The coaches for the South team include Jerrial Dawson of Morton and Cedric Armstrong of West Bolliver.

All-stars participants will be required to report on Friday, March 18.

The 1A-2A-3A girls game will be played at noon on Saturday, March 19 at Mississippi College’s A.E. Woods Coliseum in Clinton with the boys contest set for 2:30 p.m.

General admission to the games is $10.